Save Paper Save Trees.

About Legislative Assembly, Arunachal Pradesh
Legislative Assembly
Arunachal Pradesh has unicameral Legislature ever since its inception. The Legislative Assembly was consisted of 33 members, out of whom 30 were chosen by the people by direct election and three nominated by the Union Government.Consequent upon the formation of the State of Arunachal Pradesh with effect from 20 February, 1987 the total number of seats in the Legislative Assembly was raised to 60.
The Legislative Assembly of the State, unless sooner dissolved, continues for 5 years from the date of appointment for its first meeting. With the conferment of Statehood or Arunachal Pradesh on 20th February, 1987, qualification/ disqualifications, etc., for membership are guided by the relevant provisions of the Constitution and the Representation of Peoples’ Act, 1951.
Parties in Legislative Assembly: There are at present four political parties in Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly viz., the Indian National Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Nationalist Congress Party, Arunachal Congress, Independent and Unattached. The present party position of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly is as under:
Slno Party Name Total member
1. Indian National Congress 55
2. All India Trinamool Congress 01
3. Bharatiya Janata party 03
4. Independent 01
  Total 60